A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

Giuliani and Romney Snubs YouTube Debate

In Are you kidding me?, Culture, Election 2008, Internet, Just News, Media, news, Politics, Technology, YouTube on August 2, 2007 at 4:37 pm

youtube_logo.jpg

Right after the Democratic YouTube debate last month I heard many people on TV and radio talking about the “type” of people the debate brought out. “Type?” Oh wait…what they meant to say is that the online community that participated in submitting questions for the panel did not fit the mold of past preselected participants. I also heard some commentators call the debate a joke and this type of online forum was making a mockery out of serious politics. Serious politics??? Good God.

So obviously when I read that the September Republican YouTube debate was going to interfere with Rudolph Giuliani and Mitt Romney fund raising schedules, I was a little miffed. But then Romney said that this type of online format was “demeaning.”Good God. My blood began to boil. Demeaning? Are you guys that narrow minded to believe that the YouTube audience is not part of the voting public? Why don’t you just go ahead and shoot yourself in the other foot by saying that this type of forum will only hurt your chance for a presidential run. Nonetheless, I think more than anything Romney and Giules might just be afraid of the “type” of people and questions they will have to face. I really expected more from Giuliani.

Now Giuliani and Romney are trying to run damage control on their statements. Read the whole story from the New York Times here (free subscription required.)

FOR AN UPDATE ABOUT THIS DEBATE, CLICK HERE.

rg.jpg

  1. hey there and thank you in your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did on the other hand experience several technical issues using this web site, as I skilled to reload the site lots of times prior to I may just get it to load correctly. I had been thinking about in case your web hosting is OK? Now not that I am complaining, however sluggish loading cases occasions will very frequently affect your placement in google and could injury your high-quality ranking if ads and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I’m including this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  2. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

