A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

My Journey to D.C. Will Begin Soon

In Academia, Barack Obama, Election 2008, Politics, Washington D.C. on December 1, 2008 at 1:25 pm

bush-uhaul

A whirlwind of events have occurred since I last blogged. My fellow Houstonians and I have somewhat recovered from Ike, our nation has a new president-elect, Halloween and Thanksgiving has come and gone, and we are quickly approaching the Christmas season. Work and family have kept me busy along with my graduate studies. Additionally, my husband just received orders for a deployment to Iraq next year so any free time that I’ve had is now spent with the National Guard Family Readiness and Yellow Ribbon Programs.

However, I did receive some good news In October. I was awarded a scholarship to attend an academic seminar that will take place in Washington, D.C. in January. The Washington Center is offering the Presidential Inauguration Academic Seminar which explores the new administration and the role that the media has in the process of the campaign, election, and presidency. The best part about the program is that it concludes during the Presidential Inauguration; therefore, I will be in the nation’s capitol to witness the historical swearing in of Barack Obama as the U.S.’s first African American president.

Once I found out that I would be making the trip to D.C., I got on the phone and began contacting the offices of my local senators and representatives to get my name on the list for inauguration tickets. I’m glad that I did this early, but we’ll see how that pans out. Even if I don’t get an actual ticket, I’ll be able to see the parade and attend some other parties/balls. I’m even going to dinner at the Chamber of Commerce while I’m there.

As part of my scholarship and the graduate credit that I’ll be earning, I’ll be blogging from the capitol daily and presenting a paper at our annual research symposium on campus in the spring. I’ve agreed to some local PR and a contribution the university magazine. For someone who never enjoyed writing anything longer than an I.O.U., I have found myself in the land of research and journal papers.

For now I’ll be doing the occasional blogging about events related to the big January day such as shopping for a ball gown (oh dear God),  an inauguration ticket confirmation, and maybe an Obama staff appointment or two.

The end of the fall term and January is right around the corner; there’s still so much to do.

I’m off to reserve a U-Haul truck for our current sitting Prez. ;-) (Is it just me or did Bush look like he was ready to hand over the White House keys right then to Obama during the recent tour?)

  1. Omg that is awesome, congrats!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

