A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

College Student in a Heap of Trouble

In Are you kidding me?, Politics on March 29, 2007 at 10:36 pm

photo by Rachael Palinkas

picture by Rachael Palinkas 

This past weekend my son sent me a link about a friend of his that is in a bunch of trouble for posting some peace rally photos on her Facebook page. Rachael Palinkas, a student at Linfield College in McMinnville, Oregon posted photos of a burning U.S. flag and what looks like an American soldier in BDUs. Ms. Palinkas is an aspiring journalist and even writes for the college on their webpage. This poor girl even made onto The Drudge Report. From what I understand, she couldn’t believe that Americans were burning flags and acting in this manner. This is the reason why she did the posting. Call me crazy but I praise her for reminding the rest of us that there still is a war going on and our own neighbors are reacting this way. I think too many of us have become numb to the fact that we have lost over 3200 men and women since this war began. Read the story and decide for yourself. 

