A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

HE DID NOT…

In Are you kidding me?, Politics on April 3, 2007 at 12:38 am

Ok, now that the first pitch has been thrown out (and yes, I’m in another Lidge Loss fog this morning) to kick off the baseball season, I feel the need to address an event that happened this past Saturday.

Speaking to a crowd for the National Federation of Republican Women, Ex-Speaker of the House and possible Republican presidential candidate in 2008 said “… We should replace bilingual education with immersion in English so people learn the common language of the country and they learn the language of prosperity, not the language of living in a ghetto.”

OH YES HE DID…Apparently he had the “applause of more than 100.” Whoop-dee-do! Wow..100! It’s gonna be a close one if he gets that nomination! (Like there is a chance in Hades for that.) I do believe that first he will have the foot that is shoved into his mouth and down his throat removed.

Gingrich  What do you think he is saying here???

In regards to the “ghetto” comment, the last time that I went to vote the ballot was in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Does this mean that the Vietnamese also speak like they are from the “ghetto” as he so eliquently puts it? 

Now it’s obvious to the most casual observer that in order to vote, you must be a U.S. citizen – not a fluent U.S. citizen. I can tell you, I have taken two years of Spanish and grew up around many Spanish-speaking family members and if I had to cast my vote on a Spanish ballot, well then geez…I might as well just color on it with my favorite crayons. Learning a language takes time. While it is true that to become a U.S. citizen one must complete a test in American history in English, that test doesn’t magically make you fluent. 

Oh Newt…you really gave me a chuckle. I found your comments so compelling that I decided the Astros needed to come first.

Hillary surprised!

“He said WHAT???”

