A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

Ann Coulter Playing Hardball? Yeah Right…

In Are you kidding me?, Media, Politics on June 27, 2007 at 8:53 am

anncoultercard8iz.jpg

Yesterday Ann Coulter was on Hardball when Elizabeth Edwards phoned in. The “journalist” is making the rounds to promote her new book – which I refuse to promote on this site. The wife of Presidential candidate John Edwards called in to ask Coulter to stop personal attacks on Sen. Edwards and their son who is deceased.

The following is part of the transcript from the show courtesy of MSNBC:

(Note that EE: Elizabeth Edwards, AC: Ann Coulter, CM: Chris Matthews)

EE: You wrote a column a couple years ago which made fun of the moment of Charlie Dean’s death, and suggested that my husband had a bumper sticker on the back of his car that said ask me about my dead son. This is not legitimate political dialogue.

AC: That’s now three years ago

EE: It debases political dialogue. It drives people away from the process. We can’t have a debate about issues if you’re using this kind of language.

AC: Yeah why isn’t John Edwards making this call?

CM: Well do you want to respond and we’ll end this conversation?

EE: I haven’t talked to John about his call.

AC: This is just another attempt for –

EE: I’m making this call as a mother. I’m the mother of that boy who died. My children participate — these young people behind you are the age of my children. You’re asking them to participate in a dialogue that’s based on hatefulness and ugliness instead of on the issues and I don’t think that’s serving them or this country very well.

APPLAUSE

CM: Thank you very much Elizabeth Edwards. Do you want to — you have all the time in the world to respond.

AC: I think we heard all we need to hear. The wife of a presidential candidate is asking me to stop speaking. No.

Coulter was actually on Good Morning America on Monday. At that time she stated, “So I’ve learned my lesson. If I’m going to say anything about John Edwards in the future,” she replied. “I’ll just wish he had been killed in a terrorist assassination plot.”

This no-talent twit is really trying my nerves. I am all for the first amendment and such but my God…someone needs to pull her aside by her adam’s apple and open up a big ol’ can of whoop ass on her.

big_ol_can_of_whoop_ass.jpg

  1. Both Edwards did fine on Hardball. The question now is: how much longer will the 24/7 cable stations continue to be enablers of Coulter’s invective? Edwards and Coulter

Leave a Reply

