A blog about Politics, Texas, and Academia

Hiatus Over! I’m Back!

In College, UST on January 31, 2008 at 1:37 am

calvin2.gif

After a month long hiatus, it’s time to get back to political humor and what the media calls “news.”

The news in my life? I spent a week in Oregon the second week of January. My stepmother passed away from a long battle with Alzheimer’s disease so my dad needed me and I needed him. It was a good visit. Someday I hope to return to teach at a university closer to him.

Looks like that time may not be too far off in the future. I am completing graduate school applications as I sit here. I am also busily working on my undergraduate senior thesis and winding down my last term at the University of St. Thomas.

My life is filled with the stress of taking care of my family, work, school, and the responsibilities of being a military spouse. Oops, almost forgot the stress of all the presidential primary hoopla. Honestly, I don’t know how I would cope without the stress. Years ago it would have bogged me down and medication would have been necessary to pull me above water. (Wait, that DID happen!) Now I seem to thrive on stress. Even a day off from class or work is not one with complete rest and relaxation. I have to be always doing something. I guess that I have learned to cope with stress better as I have gotten older.

Anyway, blogging must go on. I appreciate the comments and emails from those of you looking for me or wondering if I had permanently quit making light of political news. Nope, I’m still here. I’m fired up and ready. I still read the news daily, just wishing there were an extra 3-4 hours in my day.

Be sure you read this article from Keith Greene in the Chronicle of Higher Education (Subscription may be required). Obviously, I’m not the only one balancing school, work, family, and stress. At least for me, my children are older! I was there though! I have been trying to complete my undergrad degree since 1989! With a class here, and a military move there and 19 years later, I’m almost there!

Good luck Keith!!!

Leave a Reply

